78 failing schools identified across Alabama - Alabamas13.com WVTM-TV Birmingham, AL

78 failing schools identified across Alabama

Posted: Updated:

A total of 78 schools across Alabama have been identified as failing according to standards set by the Alabama Accountability Act of 2013.

The newly-passed Accountability Act allows students at failing schools to transfer to a better performing public school or get tax credits to transfer to a private school.

A total of 29 schools in Alabama's 13 viewing area have been identified as failing:

  • Anniston City: Anniston Middle School
  • Birmingham City: Bush Middle School-Magnet, Center Street Middle, Green Acres Middle School, Hayes K-8 (formerly Whatley K-8), Hill Elementary School, Martha Gaskins Middle School, WE Putnam Middle School-Magnet, Ossie Ware Mitchell Middle School, Robinson Elementary School, Arrington Middle School and Wylam K-8.
  • Cullman County: Cullman Child Development Center
  • Fairfield City: Forest Hills Middle School
  • Gadsden City: Litchfield Middle School
  • Greene County: Greene County High School, Carver Middle School
  • Hale County: Greensboro High School
  • Jefferson County: Brighton Middle School, Center Point High School
  • Midfield City: Midfield High School
  • Pickens County: Pickens County High School
  • Shelby County: Linda Nolen Learning Center
  • Talladega City: Zora Ellis Junior High School
  • Tarrant City: Tarrant Middle School
  • Tuscaloosa City: Central High School, Westlawn Middle School
  • Tuscaloosa County: Davis-Emerson Middle School

To view the full list, click here.

We'll have more coverage on this list and what it means for education in our area tonight at 5 and 6 p.m.

Powered by WorldNow

1732 Valley View Dr.
Birmingham, AL 35209

Telephone: 205.933.1313
Fax: 205.323.3314
Email: newstips@alabamas13.com

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.