Alabama and Auburn players featured on watch list - WVTM-TV Birmingham, AL

Alabama and Auburn players featured in the Maxwell and the Bednarik watch list

Posted: Updated:

Football watch list season has begun and the names for the 2013 Maxwell and Bednarik Awards are beginning to surface. The announcements show that the Alabama Crimson Tide will represent more players than any other school in the NCAA.

The Maxwell Award is presented by the Maxwell Football Club to college football's most outstanding player of the year. Since 1937, this award has recognized some of the best players who have ever played the game. This year's list shows four players from Alabama's offense – Senior AJ McCarron, Sophomore T.J. Yeldon, Sophomore Amari Cooper and Senior C.J. Mosley -- on watch for the award.

In the recent season, Quarterback AJ McCarron completed 67.2% passing for 2,933 yards and 30 touchdowns. Running Back T.J. Yeldon rushed a total of 1,131 yards on 175 attempts and completed 12 touchdowns. Wide Receiver Amari Cooper reeled in 59 passes for a total of 1,000 yards and 11 touchdowns and Linebacker C.J. Mosley led the Tide in defense with 107 tackles, including 4 sacks and 2 interceptions.

Notre Dame Linebacker Manti Te'o won the Maxwell Award for last year's 2012 season.

The Crimson Tide will also represent three players on the watch list for the 2013 Bednarik Award. This award, also presented by the Maxwell Football Club, was first given in 1995 and recognizes the collegiate defensive player of the year. In addition to the Maxwell Award, C.J. Mosely is listed as a watch for the Bednarik Award as well. The list also includes Tide Defensive Backs Ha Ha Clinton-Dix and Deion Belue.

In the 2012 season, Junior H. Clinton-Dix racked up 37 tackles and led the defense with 5 interceptions for 91 yards. Senior Deion Belue completed 40 tackles and two interceptions.

Auburn Senior Dee Ford, also made the cut for the Bednarik Award. As a defensive end, Ford led the Tigers with six sacks and 31 tackles last year.

The Maxwell and Bednarik Award semifinalists will be announced on Oct. 29. The semifinalist voting will open Oct. 30 and will close Nov. 17.  Three finalists will be named Nov. 25 and the winner will be recognized and honored Dec. 12 at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

For more information, visit Maxwell Football Club  

- Meredith Hicks

Powered by WorldNow

1732 Valley View Dr.
Birmingham, AL 35209

Telephone: 205.933.1313
Fax: 205.323.3314

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.