Behind the Auburn Rush Attack - WVTM-TV Birmingham, AL

Behind the Auburn Rush Attack

Posted: Updated:

Auburn head coach Gus Malzahn does not like for his offense to be considered in the spread variety.

The difference, a spread offense throws the ball to open up the run. Malzahn's tempo offense is the opposite, run the ball to open up the pass.

Follow Kyle on Twitter: @kyle_burger

Last season, under head coach Gene Chizik, Auburn's rush attack averaged less the 150 yards per game.

A year later, and a new head coach, Auburn's ground game doubles last year's output averaging 300 yards per game.  That's best in the Southeastern Conference.

"The schemes changed, but we're playing a lot better up front than last year," Auburn offensive lineman Reese Dismukes.  "It's still the same guys.  We're just playing better all-around and everyone as a team is playing better."

Running back Tre Mason done his best work against the three ranked teams Auburn has played this season.  Mason has averaged five yards per carry, for 387 yards and four touchdowns against LSU, Ole Miss, and Texas A&M.

Also contributing in the Tigers run game is quarterback Nick Marshall, who has eclipsed the 100-yard mark in a game twice this season.

In the off-season, defensive players could see the progress of the offensive line.

"We take pride in getting each other better" defensive lineman Nosa Eguae said.  "Every single day we're out there grinding. In the dog days of August when we were out there putting in the work daily. It was something you could just feel it. Feel that offensive line just gel together."

"Our goal is to be the best in the conference in the rushing, be the best in the offensive line in the country.  We're making a stand right now," Dismukes added.

Also in the backfield, Corey Grant is averaging nearly 10 yards per carry, and Cameron Artis-Payne seven yards per carry.

Powered by WorldNow

1732 Valley View Dr.
Birmingham, AL 35209

Telephone: 205.933.1313
Fax: 205.323.3314

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.