Bama's Mosley wins Butkus Award - WVTM-TV Birmingham, AL

Bama's Mosley wins Butkus Award

Posted: Updated:

Alabama senior linebacker C.J. Mosley is the recipient of the 2013 Butkus Award, presented annually to the nation's top collegiate linebacker.

Mosley was presented the award Sunday evening by the award's namesake, Dick Butkus, during the Alabama Football Team Banquet at the Cahaba Grand Conference Center. Mosley is third Crimson Tide player to win the award, joining Derrick Thomas (1988) and Rolando McClain (2009).

Mosley, from Mobile, Ala., leads an Alabama defense that ranks in the top 15 nationally in scoring defense (2nd), red zone defense (4th), total defense (5th), pass defense (5th), rush defense (11th) and pass efficiency defense (15th).

Mosley finished with 70 points, followed by Buffalo's Khalil Mack (52), UCLA's Anthony Barr (44), and Ohio State's Ryan Shazier (22).  Also receiving votes were Wisconsin's Chris Borland, Stanford's Trent Murphy and Shayne Skov, Florida State's Telvin Smith, and Michigan State's Max Bullough.

Mosley leads the 2013 team with 102 tackles and nine tackles for loss (-20 yards). He has five pass breakups, eight quarterback hurries and a forced fumble. He was the Alabama Defensive Player of the week 11 times in 12 games and ranks fourth in school history with 313 tackles. Mosley has made at least seven tackles in 10 games this season and recorded double digits five times.

Mosley has 86 more tackles than any other Alabama player over the past two seasons. He has been especially good over the past four games, making 43 tackles with 3.5 tackles for loss, four quarterback hurries, a force fumble and two pass breakups. He was named the SEC Defensive Player of the Week on two occasions (LSU and Mississippi State) and was the Lott IMPACT Trophy National Player of the Week following the LSU game.

COURTESY: Alabama Media Relations

Powered by WorldNow

1732 Valley View Dr.
Birmingham, AL 35209

Telephone: 205.933.1313
Fax: 205.323.3314

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.