The park was popular until the Spanish flu epidemic of 1918-19, when fear of stagnant water and public gathering places caused the park to become deserted. In 1926, the park's new owners - the city of Columbus - drained the lake.
First opened in 1910, the first Columbus Country Club was a large wood-framed structure known by members as the "log cabin." A July 1919 mysterious fire (aided by dynamite stored in the basement) destroyed the building.
Joy's Flower Shop, once located at the corner of 13th Ave. and 13th St., has a unique architectural form well-suited to its corner address. The shop later became Sho-Place but now sits empty.
COLUMBUS, Ga. -
The Columbus Museum is taking a trip back in time to cap off its 60th anniversary. Through June 15, the Museum is showcasing vintage postcards, which have artist renderings of key neighborhood locations such as the Columbus Country Club and Wynnton School.
During the early parts of the 20th century, postcards were often used to show off towns, according to the Museum. These cards were no exception. From fishing at Wildwood Park or shopping at Joy’s Hardware store, the cards all provide a glimpse back at classic Columbus happenings.
Visitors are encouraged to share memories of present day life in their own postcards, which can either be displayed alongside the exhibit or mailed to a friend. Digital postcards are being collected on the Museum’s Instagram page at @museumcolumbus using the hashtag #greetingsfrommidtown. All the cards will be sealed in a time capsule in order to give a glimpse back to 2014.
See a sampling of some of the postcards and their history in our WRBL.com photo gallery slideshow. You can view all of the postcasts at the Columbus Musuem.