Governor Deal Announces Third Round Winners for Innovation in Te - WVTM-TV: News, Weather, and Sports for Birmingham, AL

Text Description

Governor Deal Announces Third Round Winners for Innovation in Teaching

Posted: Updated:
Deal announces third round winners for Innovation in Teaching

Gov. Nathan Deal today announced seven winners in Round Three of the Innovation in Teaching Competition, a recognition and reward opportunity for teachers who demonstrate innovative teaching strategies for the Georgia standards in English/Language Arts and Mathematics. The competition is available through Georgia’s Innovation Fund, a competitive grant program. 

Each teacher will receive a $2,000 stipend, and each teacher’s school will receive a $5,000 grant for implementation of Georgia’s instructional standards. In addition, Georgia Public Broadcasting will film the winning educators teaching in their classrooms during winter and spring 2014, as well as interview them about how they prepared the featured units. The videos, along with the educators’ supplementary materials, will be made available to other educators, parents, institutions of higher education and other stakeholders through the state’s longitudinal data system and other media.

Deal will announce Round Four of the Innovation in Teaching Competition this spring.

The seven winners in Round Three, along with the grade level and subject area of each winning unit, are listed below:

Lindsay Bowley

Eighth Grade, English Language Arts

Creekland Middle School

Cherokee County Schools

Bynikini Frazier

First Grade, English Language Arts

Sarah Mills Hodge Elementary School

Chatham County Schools

Jan Moore

Third Grade, English Language Arts, Mathematics, and Social Studies

Holsenbeck Elementary School

Barrow County Schools

Amy Palermo

Sixth Grade, English Language Arts

River Trail Middle School

Fulton County Schools

Lindsey Rhodes

Kindergarten, English Language Arts and Science

Sugar Hill Elementary

Hall County Schools

Victoria Sinco

Fifth Grade, Mathematics

Avery Elementary School

Cherokee County Schools

Brian Swanagan

Ninth-Twelfth Grades, Mathematics

Floyd County Schools College and Career Academy

Floyd County Schools

Round One winners included Charles Trader (St. Mary’s Middle School in Camden County), Amanda Cavin (Unity Grove Elementary School in Henry County), and Sarah Welch (Fannin County High School). Round Two winners included Deborah Goodman (Shallowford Falls Elementary School in Cobb County), and Tara Dougherty (Kingsley Charter Elementary School in DeKalb County).

Principals, assistant principals, instructional coaches, district staff representing schools around the state, as well as GaDOE Teacher and Leader Effectiveness, School Improvement and Curriculum staff, nominated teachers for Round Three of the Innovation in Teaching Competition this winter. Based on those nominations, the Governor’s Office of Student Achievement (GOSA) invited select teachers to submit a unit plan demonstrating innovative and effective strategies to teach reading, English language arts and/or mathematics and a two-minute video describing their qualifications for the prize.

Powered by WorldNow

1732 Valley View Dr.
Birmingham, AL 35209

Telephone: 205.933.1313
Fax: 205.323.3314

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.